APSC logo

The Andorran Philatelic Study Circle welcomes all those interested in the stamps and postal history of Andorra

Take a look at our Information Page

For general philatelic sites try our Links page

If you haven't found the information you wanted E-mail us.
We might be able to help.

Valira Torrent:   Contents | Subject index

Perforation image from Serif Art Gallery. © Serif Inc, 1996

Valira Torrent - bulletin of the Andorran Philatelic Study Circle. Issue 38, p6 (Nov 1993).

Europa 1993

by David Hope

Estructures Autogeneradores The Europa theme for this year was Contemporary Art. Therefore, the French Post Office in Andorra used the occasion to continue with stamps showing the sculptures erected for the 25th Anniversary of the Social Security. The two works chosen are the work of Latin American sculptors.

Jorge du Bon (2f50) was born in Mexico in 1938. For him, sculpture is the expression of a way of thinking. He is particularly interested in creating large abstract, geometric structures as shown on the stamp. The sculptures dominate the valley of the eastern Valira on the new route Canillo - Ordino. Examples of du Bon's work are to be found in Museums of Modern Art such as New York and Mexico, whilst some of his monumental work is to be found in Mexico, Los Angeles, Brussels and South Korea.

Fisicromica per Andorra

Carlos Cruz-Diez (3f40) was born in 1923 in Caracas, Venezuela. He was appointed professor at the Ecole des Beaux Arts and, as a result, settled in Paris in 1960. Living in Europe made him aware of the changes in the seasons. As a result he has tried to create works which change with the seasons, and has made considerable studies of colour, light and reflections. His work, situated on the Spanish-Andorran border, is made of polished aluminium. It's surface will thus reflect the changing environment throughout the year.

Bureau of Social Security - 25 years

Articles index | Home Page

Andorran Philatelic Study Circle / Hon. Librarian: E. J. Jewell / apsc@free.fr /
Updated 15th September 1998